Chamber Appoints New President

Newly Elected President, Julie Magan of Illia

 The 2010 AGM of the Mullingar Chamber of Commerce saw Julie Magan of Ilia take over the reins as President of the Chamber. Her predecessor, Paul O’Brennan handed over the Chain having spent two successful years as President.


Speaking about her appointment, Julie said, “I’m really looking forward to the year ahead and I’d like to thank all of those who have supported me and voted me in. It’s going to be challenging considering the climate we’re in but I’m confident and enthusiastic that the Chamber will continue to offer added value to our members.”

Tom Flynn of Flynn Fuels was appointed Vice President, while Tom Griffith of Midland was re-elected as Company Treasurer.

In his last address as Chamber President, Paul O’Brennan welcomed the incoming President and wished her the best of luck in her new role. He thanked the full Executive team for their support and hard work over the past two years.

During Paul’s Presidency he, among other things, afforded members with two new Affinity Deals with Bord Gais Energy and Imagine Telecom.

Speaking about the saving these schemes offer members he said, “Given the times we find ourselves in, any opportunity to cut costs is an advantage. The deals we’ve laid out with Bord Gáis Energy and Imagine will certainly reduce our members operating costs into the future. It’s our duty as the Chamber of Commerce to make Mullingar an attractive and profitable place to do business, and by initiating small schemes like these we help our members reduce their overall operating costs.”  

There was six new Executive members elected and as there were no resignations from the previous Executive, the Committee is now made up of 21 Executive Members.

Existing members of the Executive that have been reappointed for another term include:  Niall Weir of Weirs Pharmacy, Dara O’Reilly Daly of Dara Marketing, Pat Davitt of Sherry Fitzgerald, Davitt & Davitt, Sheila Cassidy of CK Financial Solutions, Gordon Mitchell of Mitchell Murtagh Consulting Engineers, Berty Dunne of the Annebrook House Hotel, Denis Hogan of Harbour Place Shopping Centre, Padraic Murtagh of FBD, Denise O’Brien of Denise O’Brien Graphic Design, Lisa O’Connell of Forus Training, Pat Whelan of Whelan Accountants and Paul O’Brennan of Meadowhall Construction who will act as Deputy President.

The six new Executive members are, Marguerite Buckley of Buckley & Co. Solicitors, Michael Fagan of Fagan Office Supplies, Tomas Nally of Rochforts, Jimmy Buckley of Buckley’s Supervalu and Accountant Robert Harrison.

This entry was posted in news. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Latest News

  • Events

    1. Free Marketing Strategy for 2022.

      November 15th @ 10:00 am - 2:00 pm